Rom. 7:16-20 A modern translation

With explanatory notes:

16 Now if I do what I do not want (eating Cheetos), I agree with the law, that it is good (Thou Shalt Not Eat Cheetos). 17 So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me (causing me to eat Cheetos). 18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my [Cheetos-eating-]flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right (not eating Cheetos), but not the ability to carry it out (sadly). 19 For I do not do the good I want (abstaining from eating Cheetos), but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing (i.e., eating Cheetos). 20 Now if I do what I do not want (again, eating Cheetos ā€“ I think I have a problem), it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me (in other words, Satan made me eat Cheetos, well Satan in conjunction with Frito-Lays).

I may have had a small problem at work.

Leave a Reply

